top of page

The Elocutioner Reviews: Darkly Dreaming Dexter By Jeff Lindsay


Did you like the TV show "Dexter?" If you did, I guarantee you will love this book even more! My father-in-law actually got me interested in the series, and while I ended up only watching about three seasons of the show, the book has captured my attention in a way that TV never could!

"Meet Dexter Morgan, a polite wolf in sheep’s clothing. He’s handsome and charming, but something in his past has made him abide by a different set of rules. He’s a serial killer whose one golden rule makes him immensely likeable: he only kills bad people. And his job as a blood splatter expert for the Miami police department puts him in the perfect position to identify his victims. But when a series of brutal murders bearing a striking similarity to his own style start turning up, Dexter is caught between being flattered and being frightened–of himself or some other fiend."

The mood and tone of this book are unlike any other book I've read personally. The narration is done from the point of view of Dexter, a cereal killer who only targets the bad guys, and the way the character Dexter thinks of things can be truly hilarious! I found myself totally focused on this very serious situation happening on the pages, just to be laughing at a humorous turn of phrase only seconds later.

Also, for the die heard Dexter fan, while I was surprised to find that (for the first season at least) the TV show actually adhered fairly closely to the book, there is still so much to learn about the characters, that really they just couldn't portray in any other way than a novel.

My Opinion Of Darkly Dreaming Dexter

I give this book a personal rating of 8/10!

I was actually really surprised at how much I enjoyed this book, because while the TV show was pretty good, it wasn't my favorite. I can definitely say that the word is always best straight from the horse's (or in this case, the Author's) mouth, and you should never judge a book by it's TV adaptation!

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a bit of murder and mayhem, but can also appreciate a good laugh along the way!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

By the way, while I have your attention, did you know that I now have a Patreon account? It's like a virtual tip jar that you can toss a buck or two into if you like my blog, and while Patreon currently only allows monthly contributions, it is really easy and simple to just withdraw your donation after the next first of the month! (That's when the contributions actually go through) So please if you would like to do me a solid, or would like to see more content like this, go give it a look over and see what you think! The link is right there at the top of your screen in the header image :)

This Week's Videos

bottom of page