top of page

The Elocutioner Reviews: Would You Rather


In "Would You Rather" Iris (Brittany Snow) is desperate to help her sick younger brother. He needs to have expensive medical treatments in order to get better, and miraculously she is invited to a dinner party where she has a chance to win more than enough to treat his illness... But with a catch.

When Iris arrives at the large house where the dinner party is being held, she discovers that she and several other people will be playing a game of "would you rather?" which gets more dangerous and sadistic as the night goes on. What would you do in her place? Harm another person in order to continue the game, survive a little longer and possibly even take home the money? Or refuse and die?

I actually didn't expect much when this movie popped up on my Netflix feed, I had never heard of it before, but I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was! Very suspenseful, and while the story line wasn't always 100% believable, the acting was! In these characters you can see love, greed, sorrow and true fear as they go through the stages of the game, and the deaths were pretty believable too.

My Opinion Of Would You Rather: I really enjoyed the movie, and so did my husband. He's more of a 'sadistic horror' fan than I am, but the suspense was definitely enough to keep me watching!

My Rating: 8/10

At the time that I write this, this movie is available on Netflix!

Trigger Warnings: Suicide, Self harm, Beating (like intense whipping), Rape, Alcoholism. I'll include a more detailed section on trigger warnings below.

Suicide: Big spoiler alert here because it gives away a crucial point in the movie!!!!! A main character overdoses on pills, killing himself. The scene is very emotional.

Self Harm: Throughout the movie they characters are often asked to either harm themselves or someone else in the room.

Beating: At one point in the movie a character is beaten severely with a large stick, like caning.

Rape: A female character is alone when a male character tries to rape her. She gets away from him and he isn't able to do it, but it is very emotional and intense.

Alcoholism: A character is a recovering alcoholic and is forced to drink alcohol again. He is very reluctant and has to be talked into it.

This Week's Videos

bottom of page