top of page

The Elocutioner Reviews: Midnight FM


Midnight FM is definitely one of the best suspenseful horror movies I’ve seen in a long time! I tend to love horror movies from Korea and this one did NOT disappoint!

In Midnight FM we follow the story of Sun-Young (Soo-Ae), a midnight radio host on her last night of the job. She has a young daughter who is unable to speak, and Sun-Young has arranged for the two of them to go out of country to get her the treatment she needs, but one listener isn’t ready to let her go…

An obsessed fan, Dong-Su (Yoo Ji-Tae) has broken into her house and taken her family hostage and tells her that if she doesn’t run her final show exactly as he says or alerts the police, he will murder them.

Soo-Ae is obviously a wonderful actress, and I found myself instantly drawn to her, she plays a no-nonsense woman who cares deeply about her family and throughout the movie I found it difficult to look away from the screen because her acting is just so believable! Her opposite, Yoo Ji-Tae also plays the part of the psychopath amazingly well and I never questioned his part one bit! The acting in this movie is top notch without a doubt, and I could see action and suspense fans enjoying this movie just as much as horror fans do.

I’m afraid if I tell any more about this movie I will be giving away some of the more intense parts, so I’m just going to leave it at that and say that I absolutely recommend this movie if you don’t mind reading subtitles.

My opinion of Midnight FM:

10/10 One of the best movies I’ve ever seen!

Trigger Warnings:

There isn’t much to say about triggers for this movie other than what should be fairly obvious, (child abuse and abduction, blood, death, torture and one animal death) and I would say that if you are squeamish and don’t like mild gore, this may not be the best movie for you.

At the time I’m writing this, This movie is available on Netflix!

This Week's Videos

bottom of page